Romex in Dental Office

Status
Not open for further replies.

raider1

Staff member
Welcome to the forum.:)

The exam rooms of a dentist office must be wired in accordance with 517.13 which requires a metallic wiring method that qualifies as an equipment grounding in accordance with 250.118.

So simply put the exam rooms can't be wired in NM cable (romex).

Chris

Last edited:
Not to be a jerk, but sometimes when a question like this comes from a contractor, I wonder how well he can use his NEC, or does he even open/own it. How does one get as far a being a contractor and not have or use a code book????????

SEO

There a lot of contractors that get into trouble when they don't read the article of the NEC that applies to where they are working. Art 517 is a good example.

Thanks for the information Chris. t was helpful.

As for the other posts, I am a licensed master electrician in Florida in the trade for 28 years. I didn't explain it in my question (didn't realize I needed to) but I just needed some clarification specifically for dentist vs. MD or hospital, etc.
I thought this was a forum to share knowledge, not to feed the chips on your shoulders. "Not to be a jerk" but what purpose does it serve to treat fellow collegues like they are dumb? Make you feel better about yourself?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician

As for the other posts, I am a licensed master electrician in Florida in the trade for 28 years. I didn't explain it in my question (didn't realize I needed to) but I just needed some clarification specifically for dentist vs. MD or hospital, etc.
I thought this was a forum to share knowledge, not to feed the chips on your shoulders. "Not to be a jerk" but what purpose does it serve to treat fellow collegues like they are dumb? Make you feel better about yourself?

There are a many people that may misrepresent themselves or just plain out lie and with that said, the way you asked the question did seem a bit odd for a licensed EC.