generator/transfer switch questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericsherman37

So, being an apprentice, I am still in the process of grasping some of the more basic concepts of electrical installations. That being said, I'll soon be helping with a project involving the installation of a transfer switch and generator for a small city Water Treatment plant. I helped haul down some parts and materials today, and my journeyman gave me a brief walkthrough of what we were going to be doing. It raised a few questions in my mind that I would like to receive input on, if y'all would be so kind :D

Following is a picture of what we will tentatively be doing. There is no currently no transfer switch, just an MCC which contains pretty much everything the plant runs from. As is, the service (red wires) comes from underground right into the PoCo CT Metering cabinet, and then up over to the 600A service breaker. We will install the transfer switch immediately adjacent to the MCC.

As the caption states, the service breaker's load side is tied directly to the MCC bussing (busing?) with some jumper bars. My journeyman said we are going to remove these and run wires straight from the service breaker's load side over to the transfer switch (blue). The transfer switch load wires will come right back (purple) and land on some bus lugs which we will install at the location where we removed the bus jumper bars. A big switch loop, kind of.

Here's the picture I made, as I envision how this would work. A couple of questions follow:

yachatstransferswitch.gif

1) With the blue set of wires coming from the service breaker load side, would a neutral need to be run with those phase wires? Intuition tells me so, but the transfer switch is a 3-pole and doesn't switch the neutral... it wouldn't be necessary for functionality, but something is telling me that it should be there. Or can it just stay where it originally is, landed on the MCC neutral bus?