Existing J-boxes not supported

Status
Not open for further replies.

woodduder

I have a remodel job where the demo contractor is removing about 40% of the ceiling grid in the building. We informed the General Contractor that I am not responsible for existing code violations that are discovered above the ceiling. The ceiling is mostly removed now and WHOA!!!, it is bad, really bad. There is not even one J-box that is fasted to anything, they are all 4" squares and just hanging on the end of the EMT which is ran at every angle in the world like spaghetti. When the EMT just so happed to get close to a bar joist, they used scrap wire to hang it.
My question is....was their ever a time(near the 1970 to 1980 region) that it was OK per code to install a 4" square box right on the end of EMT without any other support?

dcspector

314.23(E) and (F).;) The language there dates back to at least 1937.

As an Inspector I would cite the existing issues and then it is between you and the GC to sort it out. Sorry "open up a can of worms" Could be more money in your pocket. Sorry Ken I did not mean to quote you.

Last edited:

iwire

Staff member
As an Inspector I would cite the existing issues and then it is between you and the GC to sort it out.

I think that is a terrible way to handle it, the existing conditions have nothing to do with the EC. It should be between the AHJ and the property owner.

In MA we have 'Rule 3 & 4' which IMO is the way it should always be handled.

Rule3-4.jpg

480sparky

I think that is a terrible way to handle it, the existing conditions have nothing to do with the EC. It should be between the AHJ and the property owner.

In MA we have 'Rule 3 & 4' which IMO is the way it should always be handled.

Rule3-4.jpg

So, according to Rule 3s and 4, there is no such thing as 'grandfathering'? As soon as a new rule is introduced, all structures must be updated? I would think you'd be busier than a pack of drunk dogs in a fire hydrant factory.

iwire