As applied to 215.2 when do I apply 80% as vs 125%

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

As applied to 215.2 when do I apply 80% as vs 125%

• Yes. Understand the difference now

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Somewhat helpful. More help is needed.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Not sure I understood. Not enough information.

• Not at all

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am studying for the Master exam in florida. My question relates to when do I use 1/1.25 or the 80% rule vs when to multiply by 1.25 as stated in 215.2? An example of a question as follows "What is the maximum store parking lot lighting load in kw for a #4 THW conductor at 120 volts?" I know the answer is 8.16kw, I need help in understanding the why of the 1/1.25 in the formula.

realolman

I'm sorry. I really gotta start reading the posts... I answered something that had nothing to do with your post.

Last edited:
Clarify the question

Clarify the question

Matbe this will help. When I answered the question I used 1.25 and multiplied to come up with the answer. It was wrong. He said I had to use the 1/1.25 or 80% rule as continuous (3 hrs or more) was indicated in the question. My problem is that I don't see where he came up with the "divide" rather than the multiply. 86a x 1.25 = 106.25a vs the correct answer of 85a x .80 = 68a then 68a x 120v = 8.16kw

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Matbe this will help. When I answered the question I used 1.25 and multiplied to come up with the answer. It was wrong. He said I had to use the 1/1.25 or 80% rule as continuous (3 hrs or more) was indicated in the question. My problem is that I don't see where he came up with the "divide" rather than the multiply. 86a x 1.25 = 106.25a vs the correct answer of 85a x .80 = 68a then 68a x 120v = 8.16kw

The simplest answer is to remember the entire formula:

Continuous Load (in amperes) ? 125% = Ampacity (in amperes)

Simple answer?

Simple answer?