new 200a home service

Status
Not open for further replies.

jgreen79

Newbie here, Hi all.
We have a mobile home, with a 200amp main and the meter can will set approx. 200' from the power company's pole.New construction. They're allowing us to go underground from their pole. I've got enough 2" pvc, fittings, the meter can and panel. My question is will 4/0 alum. be adequate? at 200'...??? Or do we need 250 kcmil? haven't done any demand calc. On top of this question, she is planning on adding a shop later on.....so what would be best solution for this?
Thanks ahead!

jgreen79

Newbie here, Hi all.
We have a mobile home, with a 200amp main and the meter can will set approx. 200' from the power company's pole.New construction. They're allowing us to go underground from their pole. I've got enough 2" pvc, fittings, the meter can and panel. My question is will 4/0 alum. be adequate? at 200'...??? Or do we need 250 kcmil? haven't done any demand calc. On top of this question, she is planning on adding a shop later on.....so what would be best solution for this?
Thanks ahead!
can we add a 100 amp breaker in the 200 amp panel and run service to the shop later on. The shop I'm sure could get away with 60 amps or less(no major tools) and I highly doubt the trailer would ever pull close to 200amps.

If I'm not mistaken VD on a 120/240v service 200 feet in length(400') with 4/0 aluminum will give a 6.8 volt drop, or a loss of 2.8% which is under the typical 3%. Am I right or way off?

StreamlineGT

In my area, the poco sizes and pulls that wire. If it were me, I wouldn't worry too much about it. I have 4/0 feeding my 400 amp at 150ft.

jgreen79

4/0 alum. on 400 amp WOW! Yes I'm trying to get her(mother by the way) to find out if POCO will at least supply the wire, even if we have to pull it.

This is a typical mobile home, a year old with a 200 amp main inside, it's all electric.