insulation tester

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hunter J

I have one and use it but don't assume I know what I am doing with it. :grin:
It seems like a nice little unit but still new to the meggering stuff so I can't give a fair review.

Cow

Occupation
Electrician
I have one and like it. For voltages 480 and below it is a nice meter.

Yep. I'm still learning myself, but now that I have one I couldn't live without it. Make sure you get the test leads that use the probes with removable alligator clips. These test leads have the "test" button on the probes as well, super handy when jamming the probes into the terminals on an IEC contactor, for example, and needing to test at the same time. The tester also has a "lock" button allowing you to lock the test on without holding down the button the whole time.

Keep spare AA batteries on hand, it doesn't have an auto-shutoff if you leave it on.

I picked mine up on Ebay new in box for $350ish and would definitely recommend this meter.

76nemo

I saw a Fluke 1507 tester at thge supply house an was considering purchase,anyone have one I could use a review

I have the 1520 and 1507, what kind of questions do you want answered? There's been some debate on the max ranges of the PI/DAR function. WPTSKI brought this up before. I got the 1507 and was going to let the 1520 go, but I still hung on to it. I think they are both good meters for maintenance. They don't have a logging capability, but they suit their purpose.

Rewire

I have the 1520 and 1507, what kind of questions do you want answered? There's been some debate on the max ranges of the PI/DAR function. WPTSKI brought this up before. I got the 1507 and was going to let the 1520 go, but I still hung on to it. I think they are both good meters for maintenance. They don't have a logging capability, but they suit their purpose.