calc 2005 study book

Status
Not open for further replies.

jb_04

I am studying for the Journeyman test. I currently have the 05 Tom Henry calculations book. Was wondering if this is fine vs. buying the 08 book?

Isn't calc, calc?

Thanks.

mcclary's electrical

You need to know what cycle you're testing on,,,,and get a book for that. don't study 05 and 08,,,not for the test. After the test,,,of course read what you want. But get a book to match your test. In VA right now,,,they are testing off 05' and american electricians hanbook 14th edition.

jb_04

test is on the 08 NEC. I was thinking though that calculations can't change much, since its just math, can it? Or maybe I should just be safe and get the 08 calculations book.

test is on the 08 NEC. I was thinking though that calculations can't change much, since its just math, can it? Or maybe I should just be safe and get the 08 calculations book.

I agree.

Most test takers spend too much time studying calculations for the test. Most tests have a small percentage of calculation questions, studying a whole book of calculations is a huge waste of your precious time.
I would study possibly 10 different calc questions, and spend the time saved on the NEC.

radiopet

I agree.

Most test takers spend too much time studying calculations for the test. Most tests have a small percentage of calculation questions, studying a whole book of calculations is a huge waste of your precious time.
I would study possibly 10 different calc questions, and spend the time saved on the NEC.