installation without permit!

Status
Not open for further replies.

2wired

I'm an industrial/maintenance electrician and work for a lubricant manufacturer in Illinois. I have an electrical contractors license. The owner of the company does not want to bother with permits to install machinery and equipment at a new location which is already established. Does anybody know if I would be jeopardizing my license or would his company be liable? Thanks.

growler

I'm an industrial/maintenance electrician and work for a lubricant manufacturer in Illinois. I have an electrical contractors license. The owner of the company does not want to bother with permits to install machinery and equipment at a new location which is already established. Does anybody know if I would be jeopardizing my license or would his company be liable? Thanks.

Are you working as an employee or as a sub-contractor for this company? Do you have your licensed assigned to the company or is your contractors license seperate from any work that you do for the company?

Power Tech

Write in your contract: Customer responsible for all permits. Contractor will pull permits upon the request of the customer. All permits will be billed separately. Engineering and plan check will be additional to the permit fee.
I went too far but, all you need it do is write it in and get it signed. This is how service work gets done without a permit. Many times the customer wants permits. I accommodate and charge for it then.

2wired

I'm working as an employee and my license is separate from his company. I'm just worried if this is a "guilt by association" kind of situation.

ceb58