NEC article 525

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,
I need your help on this article. I am a journeyman electrician with almost 15 years experience. I also own a bounce castle rental business on the side. I am on another forum about moonwalks (bouncy castles).
The issue is
1) wether 525 even applies to a bounce castle (inflatable jumping castle).
*)My interpretation (and 2 other inspectors) is that it applies to carnivals, Circuses, fairs etc, not a backyard BBQ/birthday party.

2)article 525.21(A).Disconnecting Means. Each portable structure shall be provided with a disconnect switch located within 1.8 m (6ft) of the operator's station. The disconnecting means shall be readily accessible to the operator.....
*) there is no manufactures designated operator's station on a bouncy castle.
*) I have given the definition of "disconnecting means" to them. It says in the definition of disconnecting means "..by other means". I tell them that if you unplug a blower from a outlet that is your disconnect (other means). I have also quoted article 430.109(f) that says you can use a plug on a cord and plug connected motor as a disconnect. Yet he continues to say you need a disconnect and unplugging a blower does not qualify as a disconnect.

Please feel free to comment on this as I will post a link to this on the thread where the argument is taking place.
Thanks
Shawn

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
Go ahead and post the link if you like.

Edit: I just re-read that and realized you were saying you were going to post this thread on the other forum - I wouldn't mind seeing the other forum too, I was thinking you were saying the opposite, sorry.

I will do that. A blower is a motor in a plastic enclosure with fan blades attached to the output shaft of the matter.
Here are some of the threads dealing with the NEC

This one is if the NEC Article applies

http://moonwalkforum.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=10183