Understanding CB Specs on single line dwgs

Status
Not open for further replies.

aries

I'm studying a single line drawing done up a few years ago for an electrical room. There are specifications for breakers called out here that I have not been able to determine the meaning of. I'm hopeful someone here might be willing to help me learn from this.

The drawing calls out a breaker specified as:

1200AF
1000AT-(SKLA12)

The electrical service this breaker is employed on is a 277/480 1200A. I don't follow the spec "1200AF" and "1200AT". What is the difference betwen "AF" and "AT" here?

Also, elsewhere in this drawing is called out another breaker as:

125AT
SEDA

What is "SEDA" type?

The system drawn in this diagram was installed 8 years ago and remains in service. Unfortunately I do not have access to the installation any longer so cannot go compare what was built to what was drawn.

Thanks!

aries

AF=Amp Frame

AT=Amp Trip

I believe SEDA is designating a GE type breaker

Yep.. SEDA was a GE breaker -- eventually found that by more google work.

Now when they call out Amp Trip (AT) does this have any relation to this breaker being a 80% or 100% rated? That is to say if a drawing such as this calls for "1000AT" does it "in real life" mean the breaker will actually trip around 1000A or at around 80% of 1000A?

If there is no relation, what would they have called out in such a drawing if they wanted to specify 100% rated? Presumably the absence of a specification means standard rated (80%).

Thanks!

R Bob

Yep.. SEDA was a GE breaker -- eventually found that by more google work.

Now when they call out Amp Trip (AT) does this have any relation to this breaker being a 80% or 100% rated? That is to say if a drawing such as this calls for "1000AT" does it "in real life" mean the breaker will actually trip around 1000A or at around 80% of 1000A?