Three Phase Grid Interconnection (PV System)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SEGuser

I am currently designing a 20kw photovoltaic system for a large commercial application (480/277WYE) and the customer has requested we engineer the system to hit exactly 20kw. In attempting to do so we have determined one possibility would be the following:

(2) 7000W Inverters (277V output)
(1) 6000W Inverter (277V output)

These three inverters would each utilize a Line to N connection. But I know that the (2) 7kW inverters will be producing at ~25.24A while the (1) 6kW inverter will be at ~21.66A. To my understanding this could be an issue.

Now, please note I am a mechanical engineer by education I have 2.5 years experience with single phase interconnections in the solar industry. But I am still a more or less in-experienced with three-phase.

So I am wondering how I calculate the phase imbalance (if any). The local utility, like most, has a restriction on the imbalance of the power we back-feed. And I can not remember or find instructions on how to calculate this, so if there is a specific formula or process I should go about to determine this I would greatly appreciate any help. OR if there is some other problem regarding this set up please let me know.

Thanks for any/all of your help in advance.

Taylor
Solar Engineering Group

SEGuser

Ahh, now we get into the fun part of solar... the politics and rules of the Utilities.

The utility in question splits their incentive program at 20kw, below 20kw the incentive is based off installed watts, while above 20kw is production based. And as I'm sure you would agree, the up front pay out of the incentive sounds better than the incentive that requires 10 years to pay out in full.

So, if there is a well known/good 20kw 3 phase inverter someone knows of please let me know, I am familiar with all the major players in the U.S. and the pair of 7kw and single 6kw is the best I can think of, barring the phase imbalance.

iwire