Transformer Grounding

Status
Not open for further replies.

RUWired

The installer did not install the GEC for the transformer to either the steel or the water, he used ground rods.

Pierre, lets say that the water and steel are not closely available (because its installed outside) as an electrode and the rods were installed to meet 250.(A)7.

Article 250.104(D) is still required to be intalled.

Rick

Pierre, lets say that the water and steel are not closely available (because its installed outside) as an electrode and the rods were installed to meet 250.(A)7.

Article 250.104(D) is still required to be intalled.

Rick

250.30(A)(7) does not allow for the fact the water is far from the SDS. What if the Transformer was up on the second floor of a building and 500 feet horizontally across. It would still be required.

Pierre, are you claiming that you can actually stop thinking about this stuff at night? I wish I could develope this skill! :D

I am studying for a meeting I have with the State representative, engineers, management company, local building official, electrical contractor, and the EC. I wrote (as a consultant) a document that the engineer states is holding up the job and creating a hardship for the property owner.
The meeting is to see if the State will give a variance to allow the installation. The EC on the job is not the original installer.
The original installer came from out of state, did not file, did not have inspections and really messed the job up. It is the installation of a generator, firepump and related wiring with a remote service which is separate from the building building service. I cannot provide pictures, maybe later.

So, in answer to your question, NO. :D

RUWired

250.30(A)(7) does not allow for the fact the water is far from the SDS. What if the Transformer was up on the second floor of a building and 500 feet horizontally across. It would still be required.