conductor sizing

Status
Not open for further replies.

estim8r

We have schematic/narrative design that includes feeders for pairs of
300A, 200,000 CFM fans exhausting a transit tunnel.
I'm not an engineer.

Ugly's Electrical References (book) suggests that 3/350kcmil conductors might be adequate to feed one fan, and further that these will fit in ONE 4" RGS conduit.

The engineer reviewing the estimate came back with THREE 4" conduits and
an unspecified quantity of 600 kcmil conductors, PER FAN.
It appears the feeder run is 2,200 feet so quite a lot of derating applies.

Controls wiring and conduit is separately accounted for.

How does one get from one, to three, conduits?
Is there a derating for grouped cables that leads to pulling one single conductor per conduit? Even in that case, the conduit size would be far smaller.... the Transit Agency uses an EPR insulated cable that is nothing unusual sofar as diameter.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
This is not an issue of "derating." Distance does not cause a change to the ampacity of a conductor. Instead, we are dealing with voltage drop considerations. With that long a run, a set of 350 conductors will give you a dvoltage drop of 9%. That will not give the fans enough voltage for them to perform acceptably. A set of 600's would allow for a higher voltage level at the end of the run.

I have no idea why you would need three conduits. A set of 600's can fit into a 4" RGS conduit. I can only hope that the engineer is not thinking of putting the two phase A conductors (one per fan) on one conduit, the two phase B conductors in a second conduit, and the two phase C conductors in the third conduit. That would be not only wasteful, it would also be illegal.

Welcome to the forum.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I may have misread the question, in that I missed this part:
. . . THREE 4" conduits . . . PER FAN.