Bar Codes

Status
Not open for further replies.

cschmid

We are just starting the process and it is not a speedy one either. but if followed the theory is good and should help inprove inventory tracking and inventory levels. nothing more frustrating then in the middle of something and someone uses the last one and says nothing.

laketime

I am just starting out and a 2 man operation right now. At what point in your business did holding inventory start to pay off?

We used bar code here at the plant for a few years, maintenance of it is expensive. What I mean is typically your paying for expensive software that collects the data and translate it so you can format it into a accurate inventory. We changed directions a few years ago to a tool room with part ID numbers rather than bar codes and created our own excel spread sheet that deducts to id number from the inventory when it's removed. This is all based on the reliability of the employees to follow procedures.

LHarrington

benaround

I am just starting out and a 2 man operation right now. At what point in your business did holding inventory start to pay off?

Right around tax time, you know a 400a disconnect even if slightly used is worth the same

as a new one as far as inventory goes, so I've heard. :)

RH1

Remember that inventory is taxed, you cannot expense it until it leaves the shop.

Here's how it works, you get a check for $10,000. You decide to buy $10,000 worth of wire. Even though you bought wire, that $10,000 is still subject to tax. All you did is take your wealth and convert it from one form of wealth (money) to another form of wealth (wire).

When you take that $10,000 worth of wire and install it on a job, *now* you can expense the $10,000.

For accounting purposes, running an inventory is very time consuming, as parts are entered into inventory, you must record the cost of each item. Since the electrical trade consists of about 100,000 parts, this can be a nightmare.