Question about this contract

Status
Not open for further replies.

quogueelectric

Hello all! I am new member to this forum, however I have lurked for a while and appreciate all the information I have learned from this place. I am an electrical contractor in Arizona, working mostly in the Phoenix metro area. I have been a contractor for a few years, and rarely have problems with contracts or customers.

If anyone can help me out with this one, I would really appreciate it!

I had a man call me for a bid on a new SES to replace this sixty year old system that was on this 1946 home. He wanted to get the utility to hook up to a home he had just purchased on an online auction. Utility would not hook up to the existing setup. Obviously, the system was outdated, not up to code, and upon seeing it my thought was, "wow, this thing is old!".

So I gave him a bid to do a replacement with a 200 amp meter/panel. I asked him if he was remodeling the home and was getting permits in addition to this electric work. He said no, he was just replacing some cabinets and repairing drywall and no permit was going to be obtained for this work...so this was NOT a home remodel. So, I took his word on this and realized the home's electric system would be grandfathered in and since no work was going to be taking place on the inside I would replace the service and hook up his circuits, get inspected, and get his electric back on. I also sold him some GFIs for the new counter tops he was going to install in his kitchen.

I showed up to meet the owner and he had modified my contract I emailed him for review. He added that if I missed anything on this job that the inspector would require, I would be responsible for the labor and materials for the work. I thought it was wrong he modified my contract but also felt that I know all the codes as I have done many panel changeouts before and covered all my bases.