Learning to Estimate?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Im new in the game... I want to be educated in learning how to be a excellent ESTIMATOR in the trade. I just bought the 2009 National Electrical Estimator Book and I want to start in learning where to begin? What do I add on a estimate to make profit? I need the learning fundamentals?

fridaymean

The Mike Holt book is pretty good, but I learned best from taking a class, and from others that have done it for a while.

I hear the NECA class is good and would like to take that soon.

satcom

The Mike Holt book is pretty good, but I learned best from taking a class, and from others that have done it for a while.

I hear the NECA class is good and would like to take that soon.

The Holt book is something you will need to refer to, but a combination of taking classes with professional estimators as instructors, and finding a good mentor to help you understand some of the practices.
It took me some time, to learn to build my own actuals books, they helped with accurate estimates, more then anything else, I learned that from the pros, they had years of actuals books, and with all the software out there, you will still need your actuals books for accurate data.

aline

Just as important as good estimating skills are good sales skills.

The better and more accurate you get at estimating the more likely you won't be the low bidder. You'll need good sales skills to get the job.

The low bidder usually leaves something out. Either by accident or on purpose. :)

satcom

Just as important as good estimating skills are good sales skills.

The better and more accurate you get at estimating the more likely you won't be the low bidder. You'll need good sales skills to get the job.

The low bidder usually leaves something out. Either by accident or on purpose. :)