Wacky things at home?

Status
Not open for further replies.

e57

Anybody else make any wacky stuff at home? No listing, unorthodoxed instalations, just plain ol' unfinished work?

My latest creation consists of a 24v HVAC transformer, a little bit of class 2 wire, a 120v 30 minute intermatic timer, a 24v coiled 3-pole relay, a block of wood, and a bicycle spoke. With a little fiddling around... I made something very usefull. A mag lock for my cat door... :D It locks his but up-stairs long enough for me to get the car out of the garage - without having to go back in open if for him again. (The cat-box is in the garage...)

Anyone make stuff like this?

iMuse97

Haven't made that; but need one :). My cat's outside right now:mad: And I have to leave.

BTW, That creation would be called a hard-wired automatic door lock. OK in my book.:grin:

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
Well, being a ham radio operator I build a lot of stuff. I have dozens of unfinished projects. I also have some really good stuff I have built over the years. My test box has several home made gadgets I put together to make testing electrical stuff easier.

I have a comparatively small radio station. 100 watts. Using antennas made of THHN or discarded coax I can easily hold a conversation with stations in Europe, about 6000 miles away.

I am well versed in radio direction finding. I win contests doing so. I compete against people with mega buck computerized direction finding equipment and beat them with an antenna made from plastic water pipe and some rabbit ears I got from the dollar store. It's ugly, in fact, I call it my 'Ugly Stick'. The trick is a home made electronic attenuator I built just for contests. For any of you radio folk, I get well over 60 dB attenuation and that counts front end overload, which my attenuator virtually eliminates.

I think I am in the middle of building two more. Somewhere.....

LarryFine