PE and Master Electrician

Status
Not open for further replies.

boku0003

I work as an electrical engineer and have my PE. I just passed the class A Master Electrician exam last Wednesday (Dec 9). My intention was never to really utilize the license as an electrician. Mostly I just wanted to learn the NEC as I occasionaly use it at work. So I figured I'd get my license in the process since an Electrical Engineer can; with only a bachelor's degree...no experience required (in MN).

So naturally, everyone asks me what I'm going to do with it...am I going to do work on the side....that sort. But I tell them that I would need my contractor's license, and I need to be bonded and insured. All of which would make it not worth doing.

So what can I do with just a Master license (and a PE...)? Anything?...anything that I couldn't already do without it?

TT009

You could start a "company" and sell your services to other qualified electricians.

You would have to check with your state laws. In MN if a company is a sole proprietorship then the master, from the way I understand it, does not have to be employed and can hold a license for any company. If the company is a partnership, LLC, or INC company then the master must be employed and cant be employed anywhere else if he/ she is a managing employee.

ohmhead

I work as an electrical engineer and have my PE. I just passed the class A Master Electrician exam last Wednesday (Dec 9). My intention was never to really utilize the license as an electrician. Mostly I just wanted to learn the NEC as I occasionaly use it at work. So I figured I'd get my license in the process since an Electrical Engineer can; with only a bachelor's degree...no experience required (in MN).

So naturally, everyone asks me what I'm going to do with it...am I going to do work on the side....that sort. But I tell them that I would need my contractor's license, and I need to be bonded and insured. All of which would make it not worth doing.