Bad inspector calls

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaylectricity

Occupation
licensed journeyman electrician
I am guilty of calling in 4 weeks worth of work on a permit that ink has not dried. But that is because of slow permiting. Paper is on them windows for more than keeping the sun out LOL
Here we often get early start permits, just can't cover anything up. Never had an inspector care. Not trying to get away with anything but jobs don't need held up over a dang permit.

I'm doing a little work now where the builder is waiting for his permit. No chance that the permit will be denied, but he can only do so much before we start getting into inspection territory.

I guess the town has to approve the building permit and give it to him...meanwhile, as an electrician, I just need to pull the permit within 5 days of starting the work.

I can't even apply for my permit right now because, officially, his permit needs to be accepted.

One-eyed Jack

I have been on both ends of this issue. Time constraints often doesn't leave me enough time to list all the code sections with my violation notice but I am always ready to gove a code reference to anyone who asks. I encourage it. I figure that 99% of the guys out there are trying to do it right. If they do it just because I said so they will go to their old way of doing it in the next town but if I can show them why its required they will change the way the do it.

I also appreciate it if the show me my mistake. I am very good at what I do but I will not get better if I am repeating a mistake again and again and no one calls me on it.

I agree with you Rick. If I don't know the section off the top of my head I know it exists and I encourage EC and EE to challenge me. Not always right and I am not afraid to admit it. I already have one eye closed so I am not going to close the other. Can not learn anything if you know it all."Nobody knows it all" so we can all benefit from a properly stated challenge.

Last edited: