electric ranges

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlie06

Hello everyone this is my first time posting. I have 2 questions.
I ran across this today and just wanted an opinion. My friend called and said that his electric range keeps on tripping the c.b. and he said the c.b. is warm. So I took a ride on over, and the wires were loose under the 2 pole 40 amp screws. I removed that c.b. put in a new one and of course tightened the screws. I also put my amprobe on the wires and the amperage was 31amps per leg with the oven on and all 4 burners at once.
I then decided to check the kw rating since I was already there. At 120/240 which is what he has at the feeders the range is rated for 10.7 kw. and 8.1kw at 208/120.
The range is fed with a 6/2.
10.7kw/240v= 44.58amps
I think this should have been a 50amp breaker. When I had the range going at full blast with the 40amp, it held. He says it has been like this for roughly three years. Should I put in a 50amp c.b. or not. The math says that I should.

question 2: He has a second kitchen down in the basement. This electric range is fed with a 6/3. The rating on this one is 120/240 at 12.1kw and 208/120 at 9.1kw. Again the houses feeders read 120/240. With that said this is also fed with a 2 pole 40 amp breaker and he says that he has never had a problem with this range.
12.1kw/240v= 50.4 amps, 50.4*.8=4.03 (table 220.55)
50.4+4.03=54.43amps
Is my math correct and should I change the breakers?

Thanks
Charlie

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
This is a bit tricky, and I have to think about it. But let me start by asking if you really meant that the first range was fed by 6/2. If it is dual voltage rated (120/240), it needs a third wire (not counting the EGC).

Welcome to the forum.

mcclary's electrical

Hello everyone this is my first time posting. I have 2 questions.