"free conductor"

Status
Not open for further replies.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
O.K, all you test takers...... I hate when, as an inspector, I can't answer a Code question, but this SIMPLE one has stumped me.
As it was relayed to me: "In a 12 x 12 j box where the grounded conductor is spliced, how much 'free conductor' is required?"
I think the answer is in 300.14.
At first read it says 6" of free conductor measure from the point in the box where it emerges, but that would give you 6 + 6 and not even enough to splice.
Someone teach me how to read or give me a better reference.

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
There is no such thing as a free conductor, they all cost money. Did you look at NECHB Exhibit 300.13?

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Someone teach me how to read. . . .
You are reading it correctly. You are just trying to read what is not there. ;)

. . . but that would give you 6 + 6 . . .
See. You do know how to read. You have that answer right: The answer is a total of 12. :)

. . . and not even enough to splice.
So what? The NEC is not a design manual. It is a minimum for safety. If you have to do more than the minimum, in order to complete a job, then so be it. :roll:

chris kennedy

Occupation
At first read it says 6" of free conductor measure from the point in the box where it emerges, but that would give you 6 + 6 and not even enough to splice.

See. You do know how to read. You have that answer right: The answer is a total of 12. :)

Read again, the answer is 6.

300.14 Length of Free Conductors at Outlets, Junctions, and Switch Points.