Bathroom Toilet Exhaust Fan Shaft Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I am working on a multi-story hotel and have come across an issue regarding the Bathroom Toilet Exhaust Fan Shaft.

Scenario: (I am an electrical engineer, so please pardon my lack of HVAC lingo.)
In each bathroom there is an exhaust fan that empties into a shaft spanning from the 1st floor up to the roof. At the top of this shaft there is a larger exhaust fan that discharges air to atmosphere.

Problem:
We have been told that the top exhaust fan must be on emergency power. This building being a hotel, does not have emergency power on site.

Potential Solution (I am certainly open to explore an options posed to me in comments.):

• If this is a legally required load, would it be possible to tap for power before the main service disconnect (in the same fashion as a fire pump)?
  • If I can supply power to the roof exhuast fan before the main service disconnect with proper over-current protection, am I in violation of the main service disconnects uL listing?

Thank you, and I appreciate any help that can be offered!

RICK NAPIER

I can't see how tapping off prior to the main would meet the needs of emergency power. Is the requirement a local issue or they using a ICC or other code to require this.

The comments we received stated the emergency power was required for fire protection (similar to a fire pump). The logic I am trying to follow is: If the fire department comes to a building and kills the power, will this satisfy the power requirement to this exhaust fan.

These were comments handed to me without any code citation. I am now trying to do the legwork of searching through the international building code.

I'm not 100% if the "emergency power" that is required necessarily has to be emergency generator backup or "provided power during emergency".

raider1

Staff member
Why would a bathroom exhaust fan need to be provided with emergency power or legally required standby power?