Is anyone else seeing more metal studs being used in residential remodeling?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bjp_ne_elec

I have seen quite a few more jobs where the GC is using metal studs in renovations. I'm wondering if anyone else is noticing that as well. Back before I got my Masters, I worked mainly commercial, and it was most jobs I would see metal studs.

What are the ones who do run in to them using to punch holes in the studs, and then what is your preference for insulating the hole? Also what is your preferred method for mounting boxes?

When I worked for the commercial EC, we had a nice Greenlee punch for the job of creating the holes to run EMT through. Then we would use another punch to punch holes to slide a support bar through and we'd mount our 4" squares to those. Caddy does make a clip - one that goes to the stud and then to stop the box from twisting in, there is a clip that basically support the box from twisting by landing on the sheet rock side opposite the box. Wonder is someone has some more economical solutions - as it's much cheaper using nail-ons if there are wood studs.

charlietuna

Metal studs are all straight -- easily cut without electricity and leave no sawdust. And there are many things you can do with metal that you can't with wood !

macmikeman

Formosan termites do not much care for the taste of them. That drives the majority of the usage in my area. Remodels that are in reality termite repair jobs have a great tendency to use metal studs in the "remodel".

jaylectricity

Occupation
licensed journeyman electrician

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
Cutting them with a hacksaw or tin snips is easy?

Yes it is. Why would you use a hack saw? Are you reffering to structural guage steel?

Tin snips are the way to go. I can frame a drop ceiling with metal way quicker than with wood.

~Shado~