kVA required from a heater

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaredx9

Here are the specs on the heater, then my questions will come:
Here is a link to the heater: http://www.cpotanklesswaterheaters.com/powerstar/ae115_spec.html

Voltage: 240/208
Watts: 17.25/13kW
Amps: 2x40A (80A)

We currently have a 120/208Y XFMR rated at 45kVA. I want to add the water heater to the XFMR, but I want to make sure my thoughts are right as I have never done this before (I'm an EE right out of college).

I'll need two 40A breakers, so then I should feed these from two seperate phases so to calculate the kVA on each phase:

208 x 40/1000 = 8.32kVA
So if I have two breakers each at 8.32kVA, my total load on my XFMR will be 8.32 + 8.32 = 16.64kVA, is that correct?

I assume this will create a horrible imbalance unless I have other loads to make up for it on the 3rd phase. Would it be smarter to purchase a single phase XFMR for the heater?

Let me know if anything I said is incorrect.

Thanks.

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
Hmm.

1) A 208V circuit from a 208/120 wye transformer requires a connection between _two_ phases, using a double pole breaker. So each of the two circuits supplying your heater is loading two phases. If you distribute these loads, then two phases will each see one of the heaters, and one of the phases will see both.

2) The heater requires 13KW, and presumably 13KVA at unity power factor. The 40A breaker rating doesn't enter into the KVA load that the heater is placing on the transformer.

3) For most approximate calculations, you would simply say that the heater adds 13 KVA of load to the transformer. If you need to get more precise, you would need to calculate the asymmetric loading.

4) The current on the 'shared' phase is not a simple sum of the two circuit currents; you need to take into account phase angle.

-Jon

rattus

Wait a ;minute:

Wait a ;minute: