Table for ampacity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wonda

I am a junior electrical engineer. I have to parallel 4 ? core 500ckmil size cables for a 2000A main breaker. The supply voltage is 415Y/230V which consists of 3 phases, a neutral and an earth. Each cable is to be installed a 4? conduit which is buried at 24? below the ground level. I have use table 310.16 to calculate the ampacity of the cables, using the following assumption:
? ambient temperature of30oC
? Termination rated at 75oC
? The cable is THHN/THWN rated @ 75oC.
From this table, 1No. 4 ? core 500ckmil cable has the ampacity of 380 which then gives a total of 6No. 4 ? core 500ckmil cable for the 2000A main.
Is this table the correct table to use for this type of installation or should I be using table 310.6 in Annex B?
Do I have to derate the cable for 4 current carrying conductors give that the system is a 415Y/230V 3 phase with neutral?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
most of us can't add "P.E." after our name and would use 310.16 as you did. From your profile, you may have the credentials and expertise to use Annex B per 310.15(C).

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
This is not as easy a question as you might hope. For starters, I would ask how you came to select 2000 amps as the main breaker size. I say that, because if you began the process with an article 220 load calculation, and came up with about 1.4 MVA (equivalent to 2000 amps at 415 volts), then the load value will have had some conservatism built into it. The NEC load calculation process has us provide much more power than a facility will generally use, once it is constructed and in operation.