Too Old to Apprentice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElToro

Simple question for all. I am 47, and want to be an Electrician here in California. Am I too old to get hired by someone? Or, am I likely to be seen as a solid trainee with huge potential?

(The long part of my post is here if anyone cares to read)
My background is in IT data center project management including physical infrastructure, cabling, A/C, HVAC, UPS, monitoring and electrical systems. Before that I was a software guy. Both opportunities have dried up and I have been out of work for 18 months. So I decided to look for my alter-ego and find that I have both the aptitude and desire to be an electrician.

I have already completed my application to the State of California for an Electrician Trainee card. I am taking 2 classes in a California State approved program ? one is in electronic circuits and the other is residential wiring. These are both hands-on, theory and NEC code oriented classes. I also will be taking an OSHA 30 course this spring. There is also the experience I had over 25 years ago working for Walter?s which I consider both valuable knowledge and perhaps why I rediscovered my desire to be an electrician. I dont mind paying my dues but I just hope I wouldnt look like a liabilty to an EC.

Give me your gut feel - Don't worry about telling me the truth. I've dealt in enough lies as a PM :D

Buck Parrish

Here It's 5-10 years expierence before you can apply to take the exam to be a licensed electrician.

With your back ground a maintnance electrician at an industial facility with PLC's etc... might work out.

Last edited:

N844AA

Your timing couldn't be worse, there's very little work right now. As far as being 47, your maturity and good sense would be welcome, although you may not enjoy some of the very physical aspects of the trade, like dragging ladders and tools and cords off the truck....

What part of town are you in?

S'mise

From one geezer to another