electrical inspectors enforcing specs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cavie

I doubt it. Did the inspector get a copy of the project manual? Is he conversant with all the RFI's and responses thereto? All the change orders? The AHJ or inspector can only enforce what's required by code. If the spec requires wiring in RMC but the code allows wiring in MC, the inspector has no choice but to say "pass" if the EC uses MC. The rest is a melee with the EC, architect, GC, and owner. If I was an inspector I'd want no part of it.

The plans go thru plan review and that is what must be installed uless it doesn't meet min code. As an inspector I asked to see the approved plans.

e57

Mark, where is around here? I work all over the SF Bay Area and most projects require electrical plans submitted for review to get a permit. Small jobs such as adding a few receptacles don't usually require plans or calcs.
SF proper does not. Often the stamped set has no electrical apart from part 6 calc formated sheets. FA different story - fine toothed comb. Sometimes there might be a few bits of red pen about providing smoke detectors on resi RCP's - on A sets at that - because they were never provided an E set. Planning is often unconcerned. The permit is based on a range of openings... Also remember SF is 95% remodels and TI's - very little new construction.

Note, an electrical permit is separate from the building permit and shall be
filed whenever electrical work is to be performed. This means that a separate electrical permit is required in addition to any other permits being filed.​
ARE ELECTRICAL PLANS REQUIRED?​
Consult with the Electrical Inspection Division to determine if your project will require electrical plans.
The answer to the question in bold - is most likely - no.... Unless... You are installing transformers within a building, or a service which varied in size - depending on the mood of the person you ask - 600A to 1200A ;) So most of the permits are over the counter....