Listing Requirements for Electric Signs

Status
Not open for further replies.

bkelly

Does anyone have any input concerning 2008 NEC, 600.3, requiring electric signs to be listed. My interpretation of this is that all electric signs are required to be listed and carry a label on the exterior. This would apply to section signs, and custom designs. What is being enforced in jurisdictions out there. As an electrical inspector, I am getting pressure to drop this requirement from sign companies (naturally), but also from my superiors.Any thoughts or experiences?

mcclary's electrical

Does anyone have any input concerning 2008 NEC, 600.3, requiring electric signs to be listed. My interpretation of this is that all electric signs are required to be listed and carry a label on the exterior. This would apply to section signs, and custom designs. What is being enforced in jurisdictions out there. As an electrical inspector, I am getting pressure to drop this requirement from sign companies (naturally), but also from my superiors.Any thoughts or experiences?

The requirement of being listed ,,,,,,IMO,,,,doesn't mean it has to be visible from the outside of the sign. I may be wrong, but many times the listing is INSIDE the light

bkelly

I guess the label could be inside. In my experiences, probably 90% of signs carry a UL label stating it is a listed electric sign, on the exterior. The siign companies are complaining about the added cost of being UL certified. Are moist jurisdictions requiring the listing?

mcclary's electrical

I guess the label could be inside. In my experiences, probably 90% of signs carry a UL label stating it is a listed electric sign, on the exterior. The siign companies are complaining about the added cost of being UL certified. Are moist jurisdictions requiring the listing?

I misunderstood you,,,,yes you should be requiring the listing. I thought you were asking should it be on the outside. Always require the listing.