transformer size and derating wire

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

I am studying the industrial side of wiring and i have a disagreement with
a class mate.

part a.
(3) 100 kva single phase xfmrs are wired with the output in the "Y" configuration with the output voltage being 208 volts. What is the rated output current? Using the 2008 ugly's book, i see that a 100 kva single phase transformer is rated at 480.8 amps, but, when they are wired as a 3 phase system, you must divide by the sqrt(3) getting 277.6 amps. My classmate says that the current is the same since they are single phase transformers.
Which is correct?

I am stuck on this one.
part b.
Assuming that the loads are not balanced, what is the ampacity of the wire in the following drawing. You have (2) rigid conduits, each having (4) 350 MCM wires. Part of the wire is above ground, but mostly ungerground. The summer temperature is 104 degrees f. The rating of the terminal lugs to the connecting panel board are 75 degrees c.

From this is get that there are (2) 350 MCM wires per phase. Looking up the ampacity in the table i get 310 amps per conductor or 620 amps total. I then multiply that number by the temperature factor of 0.88 because the terminal lugs are 75 degrees C to get 545.6 amps. I then multiply this number by 0.8 because of the 4 wires in one conduit to get 436.48 amps for both conductors or 218.24 amps per cable.

Looking at Table 310.15(B)(2)(a) it says that the multiplyer is adjusted for ambient temperature. Did I take a double correction?

thanks in advance,
jimmy

Last edited:

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
For part (a), neither of you is correct. And try not to rely on Ugly?s alone. You need to be able to figure it out yourself, and you should use the book as a backup.