Question on the short-circuit current from the Utility

Status
Not open for further replies.

shamsdebout

Based on the values from the utility engineer the bolted 3-phase fault for a 500 KVA. 208Y/120V pad-mounted transformer is equal to the phase to neutral fault (phase to neutral fault less than bolted phase to phase). I am not an expert but with the little I know, this doesn't seem correct. We normally make the assuption that the bolted 3-phase fault will cause the maximum short-circuit current. When the engineer was asked if this is common or seems right, he said this is how it worked out this time.
Has anyone ever gotten similar information from the utility or have verified by calculation that this can happen?

Hameedulla-Ekhlas

Based on the values from the utility engineer the bolted 3-phase fault for a 500 KVA. 208Y/120V pad-mounted transformer is equal to the phase to neutral fault (phase to neutral fault less than bolted phase to phase). I am not an expert but with the little I know, this doesn't seem correct. We normally make the assuption that the bolted 3-phase fault will cause the maximum short-circuit current. When the engineer was asked if this is common or seems right, he said this is how it worked out this time.
Has anyone ever gotten similar information from the utility or have verified by calculation that this can happen?

yes, he is right
Short-circuit kVA is the power available at a bolted three phase fault. Bolted means all three phases connected together with no added impedance. X/R is the ratio of reactance to resistance in the supply. Short-circuit kVA and X/R may need to be derived from other data.

Short-circuit current (ISC) is sometimes supplied by the power company rather than short-circuit kVA. This current is the current in one phase of a three phase bolted fault. The short-circuit kVA can be calculated from the short-circuit current using the following equation.

kVAsc = 1.73*Ic*VLL/1000

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation