residential service wire size

Status
Not open for further replies.

melissa

Hello everyone. My name is Melissa Slate and I am a new electrical contractor. Im bidding a job that will be a home converted to a church. They currently have one 200 amp panel. I need to up grade this service to a 400 amp split into two 200 amp panels. The distance will be 80 feet from the meter. I intend to use 4/0 AL wire for the 200 amp panels. Will I need to use 250mcm due to voltage drop? Also what wire size will I need from the top of the meter to the weather head? prelimenary calculations say 900 mcm AL. This seems to large for residential. Thanks

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Melissa, welcome to the forum! :) Where in the world are you?

They currently have one 200 amp panel. I need to up grade this service to a 400 amp split into two 200 amp panels.
Obvious solution is to replace the meter base and run a new feeder and panel, presuming the existing panel and loads can remain.

The distance will be 80 feet from the meter. I intend to use 4/0 AL wire for the 200 amp panels. Will I need to use 250mcm due to voltage drop?
Probably not, and probably so. Not likely for 80 feet, but likely for 200a, depending on which code cycle you're operating under.

Also what wire size will I need from the top of the meter to the weather head? prelimenary calculations say 900 mcm AL. This seems to large for residential.
Well, if this was still residential, you wouldn't be asking these quesstions, so don't consider it residential anymore. ;)

We'd have to know your calculations to say what size you need, but that's a rather thick wire. I would look into parallel conductors.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Sorry. Theres a whole lot of that confusing me.