RJ 45 connectors

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
I need to make up about thirty RJ 45 connectors on cat6 for a lighting control system.(Apprentice II) I watched a couple you tube videos so now I'm an expert.:roll:

I will need a cable prep/crimping tool. Any recommendations? Any I need to stay away from?

Are there any manufactures connectors you prefer over others?

Thank you.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Try to buy the RJ-45 connectors/crimper that allow the conductor to pass complete through and out of the front. This will allow you to double check the color code before you crimp. The crimper will cut the conductors off flush with the front of the connector.

chris kennedy

Occupation
But how are your eyes? I recommend giving the task to a young guy. :grin:

I have 3 pairs of readers and carry a 3x, 6x, 9x magnifier in my tool bag. Sounds like a good job for my son.

Thanks for the links Bob.:)

walkerj

I HATE terminating cat5

I made the mistake of telling my boss when the company opened that I could do phone/cable/internet.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I have some Ideal tools I bought at HD and am happy with them.

http://www.homedepot.ca/wcsstore/Ho...og/04371ea1-2e28-428a-a868-1531c8d45c99_4.jpg

I would also get the inexpensive Ideal tester that will check continuity and proper placements.

http://www.buy.com/prod/ideal-linkm...rj-45-network-remote/q/loc/101/207941017.html

But how are your eyes? I recommend giving the task to a young guy. :grin:
I use the exact same stripper/crimper and tester. I made a pair of 6" jumpers for the tester for testing runs with jacks.

I also wear reading glasses when making them up. :cool: (1.75 power)

LarryFine

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I HATE terminating cat5