I Need Help With Estimating

Status
Not open for further replies.
i don't have a particular job to estimate. i want to learn how to estimate off of drawings. should i invest in software? are there courses that i can take? how did you learn? did someone just teach you in the shop? please, help. i am new to contracting. i want to be able to bid larger jobs such as office build outs and renovations. i might very soon need to bid a fast food establishment, but right now i don't have any idea where to start once i see the drawings. my main concern is accuracy. i can't afford to under estimate and i don't want to over estimate and miss a good opportunity.

dmagyar

More info needed

More info needed

It isn't noted in your profile how much experience you have and how long you've been a contractor. I say that because, estimating is a learned procedure where each item which has both a cost associated for the material and a labor element, which is also added as cost, these are then incorporated into the "Bid". Without a solid understanding and basis for setting both the material and labor elements you could be biting off more than you can chew, in your quest to bid larger projects. The specifications will outline what type of installation and the materials that are expected and what isn't approved. The spec's can dramatically affect the cost of a job, and If a mistake happens with interpreting the spec's, it will be costly.

The next element is the new arena that you'll be in, instead of homeowners that don't know too-much of anything you'll be dealing with people that see costs from many electrical contractors, yours will just go into the pile. Then the games start, they may not reveal anything of use regarding how a bid turned out. They may just outright lie and say that your competition was $$ under you, when in fact they weren't. But there are some good General contractors, and alot in another catagory, both will provide more of an education than you may be seeking.