cutler hammer, square d, or murray?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I've always liked Murray.

As an inspector I don't really care what's installed, but there is one brand out there and I want to say that it's CH, but I may be wrong, that if it's not installed just right it will pinch the dead front cover and they are a real pain to get off and on.

c2500

I personally use CH when price is not an issue. My cost for CH SP breakers pushes the high $5's. I like the BR panels for economy based jobs. (I have used several lately) Sadly, The best deal is at big blue with the value packs on BR panels as they dropped the CH's. The supply house can't touch the pricing. No opinion on Square D as I have rarely dealt with them, and never had a Murray before.

c2500

Chamuit

Grumpy Old Man
Occupation
Electrician
What ever the job will support.

Zinsco and FPE are my favorites.

Seriously, QOB, QO, then any of the Homeline, GE, Siemens, CH panels that are readily available.

Last edited:

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
I sense a dislike for the product.

You will sense more, here.

I just had an HO bring back a GE panel yesterday.

I also don't like CH. My experience has been that they are arc welders. I know an inspector that had a half inch of a pocket knife melt off and not trip a CH breaker 15 feet away. (He was an EC at the time). I have seen 15 amp CH breakers carry 115.7 amps and not trip. The load was enough to dim all the lights in the house down. I mean real down. Voltage dropped to around 40 volts. There was a dead short in the circuit, L-N, in a light.

SQ-D all the way for me.

I saw an apprentice slip a 20 AWG ground wire to a buss in a 200 amp SQ-D panel and the 200 amp main snapped instantly, causing a mere blemish at the point of contact.

Skeert the hail out of the carpenters, though! :D It was still a pretty good show.

RichB

Occupation
Electrician/Electrical Inspector