pole base anchor bolts

Status
Not open for further replies.

malachi constant

In doing a punchlist I noticed what appears to be corrosion on all the pole base anchor bolts (see attached bmp). Specs call for hot-dipped galvanized bolts. I'm the engineer. Municipal project in the upper midwest (extreme temps, lots of moisture, can be windy, lots of salt on the road). Poles are aluminum, 12' tall on 3' riser (15' total).

I'm looking for some help here. I'm not an expert on hardware, but these look like they are corroding and not galvanized, and I am concerned. Should I have these taken out and the correct bolt installed? If so does that mean the entire base should be repoured? Or is this a non-issue and they will hold up fine over the years?

I don't want to go overboard and be overly burdensome in the punchlist, but if this is a potential safety issue I want to get it fixed. Thanks.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
I agree, they do seem to look pretty bad for new bolts. I would ask to see back up from the pole manufacturer that this is normal for their product and I would also want to see the warranty.

The only way to have these bolts replaced would be to drill and epoxy new bolts or have the pole bases completely reconstructed.

Roger

iwire

Staff member
It is just as well they need to be fixed they did hit the center of the base and once the poles are bolted on they will look like garbage.

dicklaxt

What iwire said

Where's the jack hammer??????????I agree, may be able to cut them off and star drill and epoxy in new bolts with expansion anchors(if allowed).This would reposition pole base and then the conduit stub up might be the way location......I vote to tear it out and start over

dick

KentAT

Those should be J- or L-bolts. No way to redo them...removing the concrete to the bottom of the bolts and repouring will not work.