clearing contacts

Status
Not open for further replies.

khtelect

This may seem like a dumb question, but are clearing contacts on a mechanically held contactor built in or do you use the auxillary contacts on the side. Square D is the manufacturer.

jeremysterling

I don't think its a dumb question.

I asked a similar question regarding the trip coil clearing contacts versus the aux contacts of a SqD shunt trip breaker.

Sorry I do not know the answer to your question about the contactor, but my guess would be that you are alright not using the aux contacts. You could verify this with your ohmmeter.

tkb

What is a clearing contact?
I have been doing motor control for 30 years and never heard that term.

Is is the same as a holding contact?

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
What is a clearing contact?

Is is the same as a holding contact?
Actually just about the opposite.

A holding contact maintains the circuit to the coil even after the pushbutton is 'released' - it keeps the coil energized.

A clearing contact breaks the circuit to the coil even if the pushbutton is 'maintained' - it keeps the coil de-energized.

A circuit with a clearing contact requires some method of being closed (reset), similar to the way a holding contact circuit requires a method of being opened.

dicklaxt

Actually just about the opposite.

Right On jim,,,,,,,A clearing contact breaks the circuit to the coil even if the pushbutton is 'maintained' - it keeps the coil de-energized.

Example of a clearing contact:

A Pressure Switch in series with the stop button in a motor control circuit,,,,,,,,,,often referred to as a "run permissive" as well.

Example of an Interposing Relay: