Trying to get License .. possible roadblock

Status
Not open for further replies.

satox

I have been doing electrical work wiring outdoor signs, installing ceiling fans adding circuits, breakers, plugs, lights for at least 25 years (on the side for friends and family). I was in the air force for 8 years doing highly technical electronics, data acquisition and high voltage installs (this was 20 years ago). I have been doing scientific data acquisition and computer engineering and some electrical work for the past 25 years. I have a bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering.

With all that said I enjoy doing electrical work part time but since I'm older and hopefully smarter I realize the importance of getting things inspected. All the work I do has always been above code.

So now I'm trying to get my license. The current regulations say that I can count my degree as 3 years of experience towards the requirement of having 4 years experience to get my license. The problem is this extra year. I am not going to quit my day job but I still want to get this license. What are my options ? Any advice ?

Cavie

Get a local shop to give you a letter verifying employment and buy him a very big dinner $$. Happens all the time.

satox

Licensing problem

Licensing problem

Cavie... thanks for my first chuckle of the day ...lol.

iwire ...I'm in California

Cavie

Yeah that's real nice.

Nope, that's "The real world". How do you think multi-certified inspectors get their licenses. You think a 35 year old guy has got the required number of years experiance and or schooling to have 4 different licenses???? Please. I speak from experiance. I have worked with these guys.

Last edited:

jmsbrush

We are not talking about an inspectors license. Big difference between the inspectors license and the EC license.