IEEE 142 System Grounding - Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mityeltu

I am new to grounding and am reading this to help get me started. I am a fairly green engineer, so please, be gentle.

in section 1.4, last paragraph in the 1991 version, it stipulates a grounding transformer should be connected directly to the bus without using any intervening fuses or breakers (to make sure it is not taken out of the system inadvertantly), then in the very next sentence, it suggests that the grounding xfmr should be connected to a feeder breaker.

Did I miss something? I understand that one would be on the MAIN bus and the other on a sub-bus, but if the xfmr is for grounding the system, what would be the effective difference? They should both be sized the same, right? I know the impedance to the breaker connected xfmr would be slightly increased due to the buswork/cbling, but would that make such a difference that it voids the point of NOT having the xfmr on a breaker?

What am I missing?

skeshesh

From IEEE 142 (green book) circ. 2007: