Does it need to be UL listed or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ProcessMark

I work in the retail display industry. We make point of purchase displays for retailers. We are working on a current project that involves creating a lightbox made of plastic that contains 2 bulbs, one LED, one Halogen. The goal of the display is to measure the watt usage of each bulb to show the consumer how much power they can save by using the LED bulb. The components include a Watt meter, toggle switch, the two bulbs (w/casings), a dimmer switch (w/ separate power switch), and the wiring needed to hook it all up. All of these components are UL listed themselves. My question is does this need to be UL listed? I had heard something like that if you used 8 (or less) UL listed parts, then you didn't need to worry about having the entire unit UL listed, is this true?
Any info about what we need to do for this display as it relates to UL listing or not would be helpful. thanks.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
...I had heard something like that if you used 8 (or less) UL listed parts, then you didn't need to worry about having the entire unit UL listed, is this true?
Addressing this issue only;
The requirement for NRTL listing varies by jurisdiction. Not all states require it, those that do have their own code sections that word it differently. In Washington state for example, the number in reference to your statement above is 5 devices, including the box. But in all cases, regardless of how you or I interpret the state clauses that add the NRTL requirements, the local AHJ has the final word so your best bet is to just ask him / her. To Don's point also, your insurance carrier may have something to say about it regardless of whether an AHJ is involved or not.

By the way if you ask UL what might you think their answer will be? ;)

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor