Just Curious

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaldelectrician

I have sinned almost every day for the last thirty years. Mostly in 480 buckets. I am very deliberate and carefull wich is how I've gotten away with it for 30 years. Tommorow I am going to ride my motor cycle to work, I am going to sin again and if all goes well I will spend the evening scuba diving. Most of the realy fun things in life come with a certain amount of risk.:)

Ain't it the truth.

Chev

Master Electrician @ Retired
Occupation
Retired Master Electrician, Formerly at Twin Lakes Electric and GMC
There's always a choice, but since I have been exposed to electrical safety as a trainer, I risk the charge of hypocracy if I do not wear PPE, soooooo Yup I wear it! Besides, I do like the prospect of going home with all of my parts in the same OEM condition I arrived at the job in!:D For the record, I wear old FR rated clothing from work (I got transfered and they didn't ask for it to be returned) when I do resi, along with the 00 gloves and leather protectors, and yes safety glasses when I know something is hot.

Last edited:

big john

I have sinned almost every day for the last thirty years. Mostly in 480 buckets. I am very deliberate and carefull wich is how I've gotten away with it for 30 years.
I can't say I've never done it, but I will say that about a year ago I was on site when one of our buckets spontaneously blew up.

No one was working in it, door was closed. The fault occured on the line-side of the breaker so even if the bucket had been turned off, the flash still would have occured.

Seeing what the inside of that bucket looked like, and how charred everything was, I couldn't help but think about how many times I've sat with my face right in front of one of those things doing control wiring.