input impendance

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcole

I have a controller/transmitter that has the following specs for the input signal input:

4-20mAdc, 249 ohms input impedence, or 1-5Vdc

Could you explain to me the 249 ohm ohms input impedance? Why is this info important?

I am new to current loops/analog control. I notice impendance rating for alot of the devices I install but dont really understand the importance of it.

Thanks for replies.

david luchini

Staff member
Occupation
Engineer
I believe the "input impedance" is used to convert the 4-20ma signal to a voltage signal used by the controller. It's just easier for the controller to "read" voltage than current.

For instance, at 4mA the controller would read 0.995V at the input impedance, and at 20mA the controller would read 4.98V at the input impedance.

eric9822

Occupation
Electrical and Instrumentation Tech
I believe David is correct but usually a 250 ohm resistor is spec'd vs. 249 ohm. If the field device transmits 1-5 VDC then no resistor is used. If the field device transmits 4-20 mA then the resistor is connected from the pos to the neg input connections on the controller.

gar

Occupation
EE
100518-2247 EST

It is probably better to describe the current loop receiver as having a 249 ohm input resistance instead of impedance. This is because you really want what is essentially a pure resistance at the frequencies of interest. 249 is possibly a more standard and available resistance value than 250. It makes no difference. 220 could be used also. Calibration from current to voltage is taken care of in the receiving instrument.