Is NM allowed in Crawl Spaces?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Accurate1

I am a home inspector in New Jersey.

Today I attended a CEU class for home inspectors.

The instructor is an electrical inspector who provided a large quantity of useful information.

One thing he did say that I do not remember hearing before is that the NEC has always considered crawl spaces to be a damp location and that NM wire was NEVER allowed to be used in crawl space even when properly secured to the structure of the home.

In my area just about every crawl space has NM wire and every home inspector I spoke with indicates they see more problems with metal cable in crawl spaces than any other due to rust.

Does anyone have a specific reference on this one?

iwire

Staff member
Location, Damp. Locations protected from weather and
not subject to saturation with water or other liquids but
subject to moderate degrees of moisture. Examples of such
locations include partially protected locations under canopies,
marquees, roofed open porches, and like locations,
and interior locations subject to moderate degrees of moisture,
such as some basements, some barns, and some cold storage
warehouses.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
NM cable is specifically permitted in crawl spaces.

334.15 Exposed Work.
In exposed work, except as provided in 300.11(A), cable shall be installed as specified in 334.15(A) through (C).
(A) To Follow Surface. Cable shall closely follow the surface of the building finish or of running boards.