Blocking Diodes

Status
Not open for further replies.

dereckbc

Staff member
This is a common application for critical equipment like plant control systems that require reliable power or for UPS logic power supplies.
Bob I am familiar with that application as I work in the telecom industry and everything has dual DC input. Difference is the equipment is built for dual inputs, and the steering diodes are built into the equipment and not something you have to add.

When I heard the term Blocking Diode got me thinking solar PV

hurk27

If you have load-share capable power supplies, and then use steering diodes on the outputs, then (in general, there may be exceptions, but I've never seen one) the power supplies can no longer load-share. For load share capable PSUs to load share, their outputs must be directly connected together.

This is because of the properties of a diode. A diode will only conduct when it is "forward biassed", which means that the anode is more positive than the cathode, and that voltage differential exceeds (silicon) 0.7v.

Which ever diode has the highest voltage source will reverse bias all the other diodes, so only one conducts.

This mechanism ensures that if you have two sources of power and a diode steering mechanism, the source with the higher voltage wins. Its a very neat and reliable answer to high availability power, fire and burglar alarm panels use steering diodes for just this purpose; if the mains is on, the power comes from the mains supply. If not, then the next source of power is the standby battery.

Using biasing/balancing resistor on the output at the rating of the supply will allow all power supply's to contribute equally, if the power supply has adjustable voltage regulation, and you set it to over come any voltage drop across the resistor, it will maintain system voltage, and limit each power supply to its own rating, other wise like you said one will runaway with all the load.