Help with Vector sum Questions. Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

andy1

I'm an electrical apprentice looking for alittle help with my schooling. Question is Two voltages of 90 V each are out of phase by 120 degree's, what is their Vector Sum. thanks

provided i remember correctly

vector A: 90 at 0 degrees (assumption on angle)

vector B: 90 at 120 degrees (120 degree separation)

Rx = Ax+Bx

Ry = Ay+By

magnitude: sqrt((Rx^2)+(Ry^2))

angle: inversetangent(Ry/Rx)

Last edited:

andy1

thanks for the Help, i guess the math is not that easy for me. Anyway you could lay it out more.

rattus

Be careful now:

Be careful now:

By inspection, the magnitude of the sum is 90V, that is the third leg of a delta config.

However, if we want the line to line voltage of a wye config, we take the difference of the two phasors. The magnitude is 1.73x90V = 156v

Of course, one may use complex math to obtain the sum or difference if need be.

This sounds suspiciously like a two phase problem with the angles and voltages swapped. Could we really mean 120V @ 0 and 120V @ -90?

tallgirl

Occupation
Controls Systems firmware engineer
This sounds suspiciously like a two phase problem with the angles and voltages swapped. Could we really mean 120V @ 0 and 120V @ -90?

Unlikely -- three phase has a 120 degree voltage separation. My guess is the person wrote the question with 90V to keep someone from using their knowledge that the answer for L-L voltage of a system where L-N was 120 is 208.

Even more unlikely because two phase power is dead-dead-dead.

LEO2854

Esteemed Member
I'm an electrical apprentice looking for alittle help with my schooling. Question is Two voltages of 90 V each are out of phase by 120 degree's, what is their Vector Sum. thanks