Dryers and Ranges and EGC

Status
Not open for further replies.

smallfish

Certainly the code making panel had good reason to insist that three-wire cable be replaced with four-wire cable (the fourth wire being the equipment ground wire) for ranges and dryers, but have you had any instances where a three wire cable supplying a range or dryer provided shocks due to lack of an equipment ground wire?
Both my range and dryer are three-wire without ground and I've had none.
Thanks

RICK NAPIER

When I was a contractor I came across problems caused by this on more than once but the greatest injury I was personally awre of is a woman who worked for my accountant who involved in protracted lawsuit over an electrical shock she received from a dryer that would not spin. The a manufacturers rep told her to reach in and spin the drum. The problem was an open neutral and she received a shock at the back of her neck when she tried this. The shock perminantly inflammed the nerves. After medications, nerve blocks and spinal surgery to scrape the nerves she still suffered great pain. Her lawsuit was against the manufacturer, landlord and electrical contractor that originally wired the unit.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
One of our customers received a bad shock between the range and the sink, because the cord's neutral wire had pulled out of its crimped-on spade lug in the wiring compartment.

They had noticed that the clock and lights quit working a few days before, but didn't realize why. At my suggestion, they had me convert the entire circuit to 4-wire.

480sparky

I had one about three months ago. Landlord had new tenants in a rental house, and they were getting shocked between the stove and stainless steel sink.

The NM in the wall had 4 wires, so I just chaged the recep and cord to 4-wire and all was good.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor