Learning CAD

Status
Not open for further replies.

drillman

I am currently an electrician/supervisor at a county jail. I would like to learn CAD in order help me manage projects better.

One of the main reasons is that we do a lot of upgrading of HVAC equipment. We also have a library of CAD templates of our buildings already built.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get started? Are they are decent online classes?

Thanks for any help.

ceb58

Do not know what is available in your area but here the local comm. collage offers courses such as intro. to CAD in their night classes. Two nights a week for 6 weeks. Something to look into.

wireguy8169

I am considering the same thing and have seen several online training courses for AC, depending on what kind of learner you are this may work for you. I took intro to AC in college but that was over 5 yrs ago and so I am debating on the online or not. The only big benifit I see is being able to do it from home....but as ceb58 stated local community college you could take a class or maybe a local trade school offers it.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
A previous company purchased a basic CAD course on a single CDROM. I was one of their employees who was allowed to use it. It started with simple commands, such as "draw line," and took me all the way through creating and plotting drawings. I spent about an hour a day for less than a month, and was able to do my own CAD work from then on.

I do not know the name of the company that produced that particular course. Nor do I know its cost. I would suggest asking your local library's reference department to do a little research for you, and to give you a list of possibilities. They can find schools also, if you prefer to go that route.

drillman

Thanks for all the help. I did not think about trying a library.

The big issue is Autocad is 3000 bucks and my boss will not buy me a copy at this point.