Conduit routing book?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Twoskinsoneman

Occupation
Facility Senior Electrician
I'm an licensed electrician but in my work I have not done much "stick bending" nor foresee much in my career. I would, however, like to become a more well-rounded electrician. I desire to learn about the practical aspects of routing conduit.

Can anyone recommend a book?

480sparky

I've never seen a book that tackles the issue of designing a layout for raceways.

The best advice I've heard about the subject is:

Running conduit is like playing a game of chess, and the building is your opponent. You have to be thinking 10-20 moves ahead or else you will lose the game.

Twoskinsoneman

Occupation
Facility Senior Electrician
I've never seen a book that tackles the issue of designing a layout for raceways.

The best advice I've heard about the subject is:

Running conduit is like playing a game of chess, and the building is your opponent. You have to be thinking 10-20 moves ahead or else you will lose the game.

Sounds like good advice.
I guess I was hoping for a book that talked about both routing and bending but mainly the practical portion of bending... ie measuring, accounting for pipe length loss whatever.

Cow

Occupation
Electrician
Planning your route is a fine line, timewise.

Spend enough time planning that you may save yourself some extra bends but take too long and sometimes you could of finished already even going the worst route.

The only time I account for pipe length loss is when I bend and offset after I cut the pipe. That's it. And that's not very often. You should be able to find that info on the label stuck to your bender handle if it's new enough.

Last edited:

Barndog

Planning your route is a fine line, timewise.

Spend enough time planning that you may save yourself some extra bends but take too long and sometimes you could of finished already even going the worst route.