Residential code questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

markevil

I've been lurking here for a while and need a few questions answered if you guys don't mind. I have been contracting in North East Ohio for 15 years and started out mostly residential but for the past 5 years I have mainly done commercial and insurance repair work. I just got a 12,000 square foot house and need some help with new codes.

1. Bathroom GFCIs will be wired on their own circuits. 3 of the bathrooms have enough lighting to require their own lighting circuit, does this circuit need arc-fault protection; and if not can I wire the GFCI and lighting circuit on a 3 wire feed?

2. In my last CE class the instructor thought that outdoor outlets and lights (attached to the house) needed to be wired in UF cable (wet location rated) where they leave the structure, is this true?

3. Do kitchen lighting circuits require arc-fault protection?

4. If you guys wire any of the above lighting circuits separately and they do not require arc-fault protection, do you still wire arc-fault or not? (personal preference)

Thanks all I appreciate the help.
P.S. I did search as best I could for the answers here, apologize if I'm repeating.

jxofaltrds

Inspector Mike®
Occupation
ESI, PI, RBO
I've been lurking here for a while and need a few questions answered if you guys don't mind. I have been contracting in North East Ohio for 15 years and started out mostly residential but for the past 5 years I have mainly done commercial and insurance repair work. I just got a 12,000 square foot house and need some help with new codes.

1. Bathroom GFCIs will be wired on their own circuits. 3 of the bathrooms have enough lighting to require their own lighting circuit, does this circuit need arc-fault protection; and if not can I wire the GFCI and lighting circuit on a 3 wire feed?