480V delta/wye PV inverter question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
We have a PV inverter that has 480 3 phase output with no neutral (delta). The service is 480V with a neutral (wye). Can we just connect the three output buses of the inverter to the service and leave the neutral open? Please forgive the elementary question; I am an engineer, not an electrician.

hurk27

We have a PV inverter that has 480 3 phase output with no neutral (delta). The service is 480V with a neutral (wye). Can we just connect the three output buses of the inverter to the service and leave the neutral open? Please forgive the elementary question; I am an engineer, not an electrician.

Depends on if there are any 277 volt loads served by the service, also if you have a 480/277 service with the neutral bonded, even if there are no neutral loads, you could not bond the PV supply as it would result in a short circuit if you bonded a phase conductor, I would say that the right inverter needs to be obtained.

ron

If the service is 4 wire, then how will the inverter react if there is an imbalanced load draw?
I would think of this like any additional source to a service like a generator. If the loads are 4 wire, then the source needs to be 4 wire as well.
Maybe an isolation transformer to derive a neutral?

ggunn

Occupation
Thanks for the replies so far. The documentation for the inverter does not mention delta or wye, it just says connect the three output bus bars to the three phases of the service. There is no neutral bus. Also, if it makes any difference, there are no loads at the connection point.

I have found documentation that says that in general equipment that is designed to connect to delta can connect to wye, but not the other way around, since the phase to phase voltages are the same. That would indicate to me that we can just connect the phases.

gar

Occupation
EE