Relays to shed branch circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

enigma

Hi All,

Pardon me if this is a question that is too simple, but I'm not an electrician but rather a product designer that has something in mind.

For residential application, I would like to install some load shedding relays downstream of the branch circuit breakers, just outside of the main load center. I have some designs for very small, latching relays that are single pole. The idea is that they switch on and off in priority sequence to limit the amount of draw on a standby generator.

The question is: is there any scenario where I can use a single pole relay for 240V, 2-wire circuits? I.e. if the neutral line is not used like in a how water heater. Switching just one of the hots would interrupt current to the load. I know the the circuit breakers need to be 2-pole because we are worried about safety in the sense that both poles need to trip at the same time so that one side is not left hot relative to ground. But in the case of a downstream switching device does the NEC require 2 poles to be switched? We still have the protective breaker installed and the circuit can be shut off and would still trip both poles. But for the purposes of load shedding, only one pole would drop the load from the generator.

Thanks!

paul

As Jim said, for controls you only need to switch of the legs to stop the unit. In this case it would be one.

I would, however, put a sign/label on the HW tank to let others know this is being controlled by disconnecting only one leg of the power.

cadpoint

Call me a box of rocks but I don?t agree with Paul or Party Tampa. :cool: